01278 422786

School Office

08:30 - 17:00

Monday to Friday

Governing Board Structure and Responsibilities


This school is a voluntary aided school in the trusteeship of the Clifton Diocese and is reconstituted in line with statutory guidance from 26 January 2015. There are 12 Governors appointed:

  • 2 Parent Governors
  • 1 LA Governor
  • 2 Staff Governors (including the Headteacher)
  • 7 Foundation Governors

What do Governors do?

All state funded primary, secondary and special schools are accountable to their boards of Governors and they are accountable to parents, the community and for maintained schools the Local Authority (LA).

The Governing Board is a corporate entity and is the school’s accountable body with responsibility for the conduct of the school and promoting high standards of educational achievement. They have three core functions and six key features of effective governance.

The Governors are responsible for fulfilling the three core functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent

The key features of effective governance as set out in the Governance Handbook are:

  • Strategic Leadership – that sets and champions vision, ethos and strategy
  • Accountability – that drives up educational standards and financial performance
  • People – with the right skills, experience, qualities and capacity
  • Structures – that reinforce clearly defined roles and responsibilities
  • Compliance – with statutory and contractual requirements
  • Evaluation – to monitor and improve the quality and impact of governance

Full Governing Board and Committees

As a Full Governing Board we meet at least once a month to fulfil the core functions.  We also have a number of committees with specific responsibilities.  These committees meet additionally to the FGB and include:

Admissions: to determine admission arrangements and consider in year applications.

The committee members are; Catherine Christie, Chris Jarvis, Pat Payton, Helen Scott and Richard Simmonds.

Pay and Performance Management: to consult on teacher’s pay and performance and review Headteacher’s performance management.

The committee members are; Catherine Christie, Chris Jarvis, Bernie Simmons and Richard Simmonds.

Safeguarding: to ensure effective safeguarding policies and procedures are in place.

The committee members are; Melanie Moyse, Pat Payton, Rachel Pimm, Alison Setter and Richard Simmonds.

Terms of Reference

The Terms of Reference define the purpose and structure of each committee; please see below the agreed terms of reference for our committees.